posted in: Uncategorized 0
Prodrive Racing (Australia)’s Chaz Mostert has narrowly missed out on the top ten in the final outing at the Sydney 500 after starting in 19th place.
Following a less-than ideal start to the race, a strong engineering strategy and multiple safety cars elevated the Supercheap Auto Racing FG X through the field.
A further late safety car pushed Mostert up to 10th, before falling to 11th at the hands of James Moffat on newer tyres.
Mark Winterbottom was pleased with changes made between this morning’s qualifying and today’s final race for an improved car setup, where after an early-race mistake, he was able to recover to 13th place.
Winterbottom was the only PRA car to pit under a late safety car for new tyres, enabling him to finish 12th overall.
Despite further struggles with the Super Black Racing Ford, Chris Pither finished 18th overall in his final race with the Kiwi squad.
A disappointed Cameron Waters is unhurt following a mid-race crash, with the Monster Energy Ford suffering race-ending damage and a frustrating end to the season.
Up until that point Waters was pleased with the car’s performance, having found a positive direction for car 6.
Mark Winterbottom – #1 The Bottle-O PRA Ford:
Qualifying: 13th
Race 29:  12th
“Today was a tough end to a tough weekend and certainly was not what we had imagined heading into the final event of the year. We just didn’t have the package to fight at the front. I am not happy to relinquish the #1 on the car as we worked so hard, for so long, to get it. But none of us are happy about it and we will be doing everything possible in the off-season to come out hard at the start of 2017.”Cameron Waters – #6 Monster Energy PRA Ford:
Qualifying: 15th
Race 29: DNF
“I was looking pretty okay and we had improved the car since yesterday and I could fight inside the top 10 which was encouraging. Tyre life was lot better which was what we struggled with yesterday so that was a positive development. But then I got a little bit of inside kerb at turn eight and that fired me into the fence. I am massively gutted for the team, our fans and sponsors. We have some work to do over the off-season but I know we’ll come out firing next year.”

Chaz Mostert – #55 Supercheap Auto PRA Ford:
Qualifying: 19th
Race 29: 11th
“It was a bit of a wild one again today. We just didn’t have the pace which was frustrating but we changed a heap of things after qualifying and it certainly was a better race car than we had yesterday. I got caught up in an incident on the first lap which didn’t help but we pressed on and I thought we might get back into the top 10 but we fell one place short. It was nice to be back racing this year and I’ve really enjoyed being back in the car after my time out late last year. We all want a lot more and I am already hungry to get going in Adelaide.”

Chris Pither – #111 Super Black PRA Ford:
Qualifying: 26th
Race 29: 18th
“It was a disappointing end to the season. We didn’t qualify well enough and it was tough going all day. I just couldn’t get the car handling as I liked, we pushed on in the race but I heavily flat spotted a tyre and had to make an extra spot which put us out of contention. I’d like to thank the team for all of your efforts. It’s been great to drive for a team like Prodrive Racing and represent my country with Super Black.

Tim Edwards – Team Principal:
“It’s been a tough year this year and this event hasn’t been any different. We made some pretty drastic changes between qualifying and the race after our efforts there so it was good to see at least a slight improvement there. The positives to take were that our tyre life was better and we have more drive which was good to see but there is still work to do. I’d like to thank the drivers and team for their efforts this year and the fans for sticking by us and supporting us through a tough year. Congratulations to Garry Jacobson, Jack Le Brocq and our Dunlop Series crew on the championship win and a fantastic season.”


Prodrive Racing (Australia)’s Garry Jacobson has been crowned the 2016 Dunlop Series Champion in the final race at the Sydney 500 after a consistent first year with the team. Now a back-to-back Dunlop Series winning outfit, the Prodrive Racing Australia duo of Jacobson and Jack Le Brocq finish the season in first and second place with a 169 point lead over the rest of the field. In a strong season, Le Brocq took home the Sydney round win after claiming first place in races one and two. Despite starting on pole, a conservative approach saw Jacobson finish fifth in the final race to ensure his championship win. To add to their list of achievements, Le Brocq and Jacobson finish the season with the most amount of pole positions, with six apiece.

Jack Le Brocq – #5 GoGetta Racing PRA Ford:
Qualifying: 2nd
Race 2: 1st
“It’s been an up and down season. We’ve had really good speed with the car all year and the guys at Prodrive Racing have taught me a lot. It’s one of those things, you have a couple of bad rounds and it puts you back in the championship. Garry was more consistent this year than what we were but coming into this weekend I wanted to make sure that we won both races, we did that and I’m really proud of the team and the guys and everyone who’s helped me to get here.”

Garry Jacobson – #6 Challenger Valve PRA Ford:
Qualifying: 1st
Race 2: 5th
“It’s an absolutely amazing feeling to win the Dunlop Series Championship. I can’t thank all of my sponsors, family, friends and the team enough. I’m really proud that they’ve been with me for this journey and that we’ve been able to do this. I’ve learnt so much this year being with this team. Being involved with a team like this for the first time and racing against Jack Le Brocq toe to toe and pushing me outside of my comfort zone was a wonderful opportunity to learn. I’m really happy with the results.”


1) Shane van Gisbergen – Triple Eight
2) Garth Tander – HRT
3) David Reynolds – Erebus
4) Jamie Whincup – Triple Eight
5) Scott McLaughlin – Garry Rogers Motorsport
11) Chaz Mostert – Prodrive Racing
12) Mark Winterbottom – Prodrive Racing
18) Chris Pither– Super Black Racing
DNF) Cameron Waters – Prodrive Racing


1) Shane van Gisbergen – Triple Eight: 3368
2) Jamie Whincup – Triple Eight: 3168
3) Scott McLaughlin – Garry Rogers Motorsport: 2806
4) Craig Lowndes – Triple Eight: 2770
5) Will Davison – Tekno: 2589
6) Mark Winterbottom – Prodrive Racing: 2489
7) Chaz Mostert – Prodrive Racing: 2361
19) Cameron Waters – Prodrive Racing: 1423
21) Chris Pither– Super Black Racing: 1369
1) Triple Eight: 6546
2) HRT: 4434
3) GRM: 4250
4) Prodrive Racing Australia: 3962
aaa2 aaa3 aaa4 aaa5